Pick your province or territory
Pick your province or territory… Alberta British Columbia Manitoba New Brunswick Newfoundland & Labrador Northwest Territories Nova Scotia Nunavut Ontario Prince Edward Island Quebec Saskatchewan Yukon
Start here
Pick your province or territory to see what you need.
Click it on the map or search at the top. You’ll see whether training is required, the official program, the cost, how long it lasts, and a button to the official site.
Most searched
Ontario Alberta British Columbia Quebec Nova Scotia Manitoba
AB Required in some cases
Alberta — Food Sanitation and Hygiene Certification
Alberta food businesses need a certificate holder: someone in charge when 5 or fewer food handlers work, and a certified manager or supervisor on site when 6 or more do.
from $ 19.95⏱ Set by course (usually 5 years)
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: When 6 or more food handlers work, a certified manager or supervisor must be present. No separate manager certificate.
More details
Alberta Primary and Preventative Health Services (Minister approves courses); inspections by Alberta Health Services + recognized course providers ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: Any course on the Alberta recognized list counts anywhere in Alberta. Alberta Food Sanitation and Hygiene is on the BC FOODSAFE equivalency list. The AHS course is on Quebec’s equivalency list.
Copy link to Alberta
BC Required in some cases
British Columbia — FOODSAFE Level 1 (or equivalent)
Every food service operator in British Columbia needs FOODSAFE Level 1 or an equivalent course, and a certified staff member must be on site whenever the operator is away.
from $ 19.95⏱ 5 years maximum
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: No manager certificate required. The operator needs FOODSAFE Level 1 or an equivalent.
More details
Province of British Columbia (FOODSAFE Secretariat, BC Centre for Disease Control, regional health authorities) + equivalent course providers ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: FOODSAFE Level 1 is accepted across British Columbia and is on the equivalency lists of Quebec, New Brunswick, PEI, Nova Scotia, Saskatchewan, Nunavut and NWT. BC accepts listed equivalents, including Alberta, Manitoba, Nova Scotia and Saskatchewan programs.
Copy link to British Columbia
MB Required in some cases
Manitoba — Certified Food Handler Training Program
Only Winnipeg requires this: the person in charge of a food service business must be certified, and places with more than 5 food handlers working at once need a certified person on duty.
from $ 29.95⏱ Not stated by province
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: In Winnipeg the person in charge must be certified. Outside Winnipeg certification is recommended, not required.
More details
Manitoba Health (Certified Food Handler Training Program) + approved contractors ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: Manitoba’s program is on the BC FOODSAFE and Quebec equivalency lists. Manitoba lists approved contractors (June 2026), many online, and also offers a $36 challenge exam.
Copy link to Manitoba
NB Required in some cases
New Brunswick — Food Safety Training Certificate
Restaurants and other places that prepare food for sale need a certified manager plus at least one certified person in the food preparation area at all times.
from $ 25⏱ Not stated by province
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: At Class 4 premises the manager must hold a certificate from a recognized course.
More details
New Brunswick Department of Health (Health Protection Services) + recognized course providers ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: Any course on the New Brunswick recognized list counts provincewide. Courses not on the list can be sent for an equivalency review.
Copy link to New Brunswick
NL Required in some cases
Newfoundland and Labrador — Food Safety Training
At least one employee with current food safety training from the provincial approved list must be on site whenever a licensed food premises is open.
from $ 29.95⏱ 5 years
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: No separate manager certificate required. The owner, operator or any employee can be the trained person.
More details
Department of Health and Community Services; inspections by Digital Government and Service NL + approved course providers ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: Only courses on the provincial approved list count, and the certificate must have been obtained within the last 5 years.
Copy link to Newfoundland and Labrador
NT Required in some cases
Northwest Territories — Food Safety Training
Operators of permanent food establishments must pass an approved food safety course, and a trained person must be on site during all opening hours.
from $ 29.95⏱ Not stated by territory
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: The operator of a permanent establishment must personally complete an acceptable food safety program. No manager certificate.
More details
NWT Department of Health and Social Services (Chief Public Health Officer, Environmental Health) + accepted course providers ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: Environmental Health Officers teach the NWT course, and the territory accepts several national programs (FOODSAFE Level 1, ServSafe, Probe It, FoodSafetyTraining.ca and others).
Copy link to Northwest Territories
NS Required in some cases
Nova Scotia — Food Hygiene (Handling) Course
The operator and, when the operator is away, at least one staff member on each shift must hold a recognized food hygiene certificate, renewed every 5 years.
from $ 19.95⏱ 5 years
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: The operator must personally complete a recognized food hygiene course. No separate manager certificate.
More details
Nova Scotia Department of Agriculture, Food Protection (Inspection, Compliance and Enforcement) + recognized course providers ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: Any course on the Nova Scotia recognized list counts provincewide. The Nova Scotia Food Safety Training Program Level I is on the BC FOODSAFE equivalency list.
Copy link to Nova Scotia
NU Required in some cases
Nunavut — Food Safety Training
Food premises operators must complete an approved food safety course within the last 5 years, and a trained employee must be on site whenever the operator is away.
from $ 25⏱ 5 years
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: The operator must personally hold approved training from the last 5 years. No separate manager certificate.
More details
Government of Nunavut Department of Health (Chief Public Health Officer) + approved course providers ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: Any program approved by the Chief Public Health Officer counts. Regional Environmental Health Officers can confirm unlisted programs.
Copy link to Nunavut
ON Required in some cases
Ontario — Food Handler Certification
Every restaurant or other food service premises in Ontario must have a certified food handler or supervisor on site during every hour it is open, and Niagara Region also requires a certified owner.
from $ 19.95⏱ 5 years
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: No separate manager certificate. The certified person on site can be a food handler or a supervisor.
More details
Ontario Ministry of Health + public health units and approved providers ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: Certificates from any Ontario public health unit or Ministry approved provider are accepted across Ontario, including Toronto. Ottawa Public Health’s course is on Quebec’s equivalency list.
Copy link to Ontario
PE Required in some cases
Prince Edward Island — Food Safety Training
The licence holder must pass a recognized food safety course, and a trained employee must be present whenever the licence holder is away, renewed every 5 years.
from $ 19.95⏱ 5 years
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: The licence holder must complete a recognized course and repeat it every 5 years. No manager certificate.
More details
PEI Department of Health and Wellness (Environmental Health) + approved course providers ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: Any program on the PEI approved list counts. Environmental Health also runs its own one day in person Food Safety Course ($50 plus HST).
Copy link to Prince Edward Island
QC Required in some cases
Quebec — Food Hygiene and Safety Training (MAPAQ)
Each food business needs a trained manager (12 hour course) plus either a trained food handler (6 hour course) on site at all times or at least 10 percent of staff trained.
from $ 25⏱ No expiry (valid for life)
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: Each establishment needs a person responsible for hygiene with the 12 hour Food Establishment Manager attestation.
More details
Ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation du Québec (MAPAQ) + MAPAQ authorized trainers and recognized equivalents ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: The attestation belongs to the worker and follows them to any employer. Quebec automatically accepts listed equivalents, including FOODSAFE Level 1, Manitoba’s program, Alberta Health Services and Ottawa Public Health courses.
Copy link to Quebec
SK Required in some cases
Saskatchewan — Safe Food Handling Course
Restaurants in Saskatchewan must have someone who passed an approved food safety course working whenever food is prepared and served, unless the local health authority grants an exemption.
from $ 29.95⏱ Not stated by province
See approved providers
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: No manager certificate required. FOODSAFE Level 2 and ServSafe Manager are approved but optional.
More details
Saskatchewan Ministry of Health; local authority is the Saskatchewan Health Authority (public health inspectors) + approved course providers ✓ Official
◆ Open market — choice of approved providers
Online or in person
Transfers: Any course on the Saskatchewan approved list (updated December 5, 2025) counts. The online FOODSAFE Level 1 Refresher is not approved. The Saskatchewan program is on the BC FOODSAFE equivalency list.
Copy link to Saskatchewan
YT Not required
Yukon — No territorial program
Yukon has no territorial food handler card, but food businesses must train staff in food safety, so your employer may ask you to take FOODSAFE Level 1 or a similar course.
Not required ⏱ no territorial card
Visit Yukon Environmental Health
Opens the official site ↗
Manager or supervisor: No territorial manager certificate required.
More details
Yukon Health and Social Services, Environmental Health Services ✓ Official
Transfers: No territorial list. FOODSAFE Level 1 is offered locally (Yukon University, Yukon Tourism Education Council), and national courses are widely used.
Copy link to Yukon